Chapter 35: …And All I Got Was This Lousy MurderPrincess

I Saved A Japanese NEET And All I Got Was This Lousy MurderPrincess

 

(Scholar) “And so regrettably, the fifth princess has requested an audience with you.”

(John) “Wait, what? Why am I able to meet with royalty in the first place? Why do I have to go meet her? This is all so sudden!”

(Tabitha) “Truly now, have you not listened to anything the head scholar said?”

(John) “All he ever does is rave on and on about jitter beans and salt packets!”

(Scholar) “Salt packets are the future!”

This damned scholar had been bugging me for the last month. Medvek had kept me updated on how the others were doing since I couldn’t leave the premises. Apparently Shorty had blown her funds on meat and stimulants, Tina had eaten a hole in her wallet between expensive overpriced gear and gambling while screaming about how there was “no way that pervert was responsible for my luck” and Dmitri had been seeing some merchant’s daughter. I was going to cheer Dmitri on, but then I found out the girl he was seeing was even younger than he was. Medvek… Well, he had bought fancy new armor and armor-repair tools, and was holding onto his money in case of emergencies.

(Scholar) “No worries, in theory she’s a princess, but in reality her claim to the throne is so weak she’s barely considered on par with a Baron- truly her only value is her royal bloodline and… That…”

(John) “Do I want to know what ‘that’ is?”

(Scholar) “Ah, I forgot you’re a foreigner. Well, the Dog should be able to explain things properly. Be prepared to depart in an hour!”

Wait, where are you going? Get back here! Ah, he’s gone. Well, maybe Dit can be of use. I’m a filthy gaijin here, after all.

(John) “So what’s the deal with the fifth princess, Dit?”

(Dit) “John! Pretend to be sick! Do not see the fifth princess! No talking with her!”

Nevermind, this mutt is useless.

(John) “That’s not an option. We have to go see her. What is so strange about her? Isn’t she just a princess who’s low on the totem-pole of succession?”

(Dit) “What’s a toe tem?”

(John) “Nevermind that, answer the question.”

(Dit) “Fifth princess can… Appraise, read fate, determine best course of action with her power.”

(John) “You mean she can read the future?”

(Dit) “No, reading future is power that kills owner over time. She reads fate.”

(John) “Well that doesn’t seem that scary then.”

(Dit) “John has a strong fate.”

(Tabitha) “Unfortunately, Dit is correct here. Meeting the princess might turn out badly.”

Do I really have “strong fate?” Well, I guess I was summoned to this world, but I’m not even the correct person. Then again I broke a pre-planned future back on Earth leading to this scenario. In any case, I suppose we’d have to meet this princess.

 

. . .

 

I didn’t like those eyes. Those eyes were staring at me with clear malice, and they shined a magnificent gold as they shifted as if columns of light were trapped inside of them. This woman was dangerous.

(Scholar) “Princess! I brought the man you wished to see!”

(Princess) “So you have, head scholar. Si you have… Do you mind?”

(Scholar) “Ah, not at all.”

The room quickly vacated other than myself, Dit, a man in holy armour, and the princess. It was a rather large reception room for someone as low as she was in the princess-rankings. Then again, there were apparently some twenty or so princesses in this castle, and some of them were barely able to be called royalty. Truly your majesty, it’s a miracle you could have so many concubines and not go insane from the nagging. Ah right, the Princess has been quivering for quite a few moments now.

(John) “Ah, your royal highness, allow me to introduce-”

(Princess) “Silence!”

I quickly dodged as a tea cup came flying at me, shattering against the wall behind me and staining the wall red-brown from its contents.

(Princess) “Do you wish to mock me, god!? His fate lines are clearly- they clearly match up to those final moments when Reginald’s body was fading from this world!”

Eh what? Who?

(Princess) “You wretch! Cur! Vermin! To dare to send a man like this down to our lands after what you did to me! I’ll… I’ll-!”

(Knight) “Princess, calm down!”

(Princess) “No! This man, he… Bah, if he’s a follower of god then you simply use their weakness! [I call upon the forces of the laylines, bring down a fissure that will end all, Slay liv-]

(John) [STOP!]

The room grew quiet as I collapsed from the sudden mana exhaustion. I had the head scholar assign a mage to periodically inject me with mana, but apparently it wasn’t enough. How strong of a spell was that? Taking a few deep breaths, I tried to stand up and-

Nope, nevermind, staying on the floor. Ok, that’s fine. Dit is guarding me and the knight has drawn his sword, but no more magic is flying at me right now so that’s alright.

(Princess) “Do not try to persuade me. I know your ability to use a silver tongue, your honeyed words-”

(John) “Will you shut up?”

(Knight) “…”

(John) “I come here on your request, and the first thing you do is lose your temper, shout sweet nothings about some dead man named Reginald, and then try to cast a slay living spell on me? Is that really the way hospitality works in the Kingdom!?”

(Princess) “I…”

(Knight) “Princess! You tried to cast that spell on him!?”

(Princess) “Perhaps I lost my temper…”

(John) “You tried to kill me!”

(Princess) “That’s enough. I’m still royalty, so let’s call that the end of that.”

She was glaring at me. Yep, she hated me. I’m glad I shouted stop instead of letting her finish and shouting reflect. I don’t want to get charged with murdering royalty.

(Princess) “I am Princess Genevieve Trinklaur, fifth princess of the Holy Kingdom and Fourteenth in line for the throne.”

 

<-Previous Chapter ||||| Next Chapter->

2 thoughts on “Chapter 35: …And All I Got Was This Lousy MurderPrincess

Leave a comment