Chapter 36: …And All I Got Was This Lousy Dialogue Scene

I Saved a Japanese NEET And All I Got Was This Lousy Dialogue Scene

 

(Princess) “I am Princess Genevieve Trinklaur, fifth princess of the Holy Kingdom and Fourteenth in line for the throne.”

The fifth princess before me was wearing a regal blue dress as she sat in her wooden chair. Her skin was snow white, but her lips and cheeks had a natural deep red to them. Her golden hair was pulled back into angel wings before smoothly blending into a fishtail braid. Her eyes had an almost shining golden texture to them, as if columns of golden light were jutting out from the edges of her iris. Truly her eyes were captivating. They were completely hiding the rather noticeable look of scorn and scowl that adorned her petite face.

(John) “John Smith, Monk and adventurer… Allegedly. This is my sleeping aide, Dit”

(Dit) “Ah! It’s- It’s an honor to meet you prin- wait, sleeping aide!? Is that all Dit is, is your hug pillow!?”

The man in holy armour tried not to laugh as his face grew a bit red from holding it in. Good, seems I’ve eased the situation a little bit. Ah, nevermind. The princess is still staring at me coldly.

(John) “Might I ask why I would be honored by an audience with your highness?”

(Genevieve) “You say monk, but you bare the mark of no inquisition I’ve encountered. No, you seem to have a powerful divine guardian spirit, but it feels nothing like that of the inquisition.”

(John) “Ah, that’s probably Selphy. Just ignore her.”

The paladin-like man next to her froze up at the word “Selphy.” Perhaps he knew what I was talking about? Well, best to ignore him.

(John) “In any case, we’re but simple folk who’ve gotten wrapped up in some bad circumstance is all. Perhaps you’d be willing to clear up our-”

(Genevieve) “You were cleared of charges for the banditry some time ago. Did the Head Scholar fail to mention that?”

(John) “He did.”

(Dit) “Ah! He did mention it! But Dit forgot to tell John. The bed was warm and the food was good, and Dit forgot all about what the Scholar said!”

(John) “You damned tail-wagger, have some decency! That’s freeloading!”

(Dit) “But Scholar said we could stay, so it’s alright, right?”

(Genevieve) “That being said, begrudgingly, I do have a need of-”

(John) “Nope.”

(Genevieve) “Eh? Won’t you hear out my req-”

(John) “No need. You’re going to ask for something dangerous. If we aren’t under house arrest any more, we have no need to do dangerous quests for royalty. We’ll be on our w-”

(Paladin) “You great stinking curr! Scoundrel! Philistine! How dare you turn down her royal highness’ request without hearing it! How dare you use Archangel Selaphiel’s name as if he were a pet! I should cut you down!”

Are all of them violent idiots like this?

(Gene) “In any case, I’ll have you arrested if you fail to comply.”

(John) “What for!?”

(Gene) “We have reason to suspect you might have something to do with the tensions brewing with the Skinwa Junta based on our informants. Therefore-”

(John) “Your informants are full of shit. I’ve got nothing to do with that crazy bitch.”

(Gene) “… The Skinwa tribes are many ‘crazy bitches’ not just one, John Smith. Now, as I was saying, we’ll need you to investigate various things in the borderlands between the two territories. You should be quite familiar with it seeing as that’s where you came from, yes?”

It seems she had me there. Then again I might have been able to play dumb a little longer if I hadn’t lost my temper there.

(Gene) “In any case, report back here tomorrow evening. I’ll have a task prepared for you at that time.”

With that she sent us off. I couldn’t quite tell if she was being smug or scowling as we left.

<-Previous Chapter ||||| Next Chapter->

One thought on “Chapter 36: …And All I Got Was This Lousy Dialogue Scene

Leave a comment